The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission was established to review and carry out periodic redistributions of the boundaries of South Australia’s House of Assembly electoral districts

The Electoral Commission of South Australia is responsible for the implementation of any boundary adjustments in the period between the publication of an order and the next general election. This includes adjusting the roll database to reflect the new boundaries, updating records, identifying polling places within new districts, preparing maps and materials describing and illustrating the district boundaries and informing electors of the changes at election time.

Any by-election (an election to fill a vacancy in the House of Assembly caused by the death, early retirement or resignation of an elected representative) held before the next general election will be contested on the current boundaries and not those most recently determined by the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.