The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission was established to review and carry out periodic redistributions of the boundaries of South Australia’s House of Assembly electoral districts

Regional Hearing

The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission has announced that it will travel to Port Augusta to hear from interested persons and groups in relation to district boundary changes which have been proposed.

At a hearing in Adelaide in early May, the Commission noted that a number of parties had identified that significant changes may need to be made to various outback electoral districts, in particular Giles, Flinders and Stuart in order for the Commission to comply with s.77(1) of the Constitution Act due to stagnant or declining population and the flow-on effects that this has on elector numbers in those districts.

Submissions before the Commission propose substantial changes to the districts of Giles, Stuart and Frome, including combining the cities of Port Augusta and Whyalla into one district, dividing Port Augusta between Giles and Stuart and combining Port Augusta and Port Pirie in the district of Stuart. Each of those proposals would have flow-on effects for Port Pirie and the district of Frome. Proposals are available on the Representations – Electoral Redistribution page.

The Commission hopes that by travelling to Port Augusta, interested persons will have an opportunity to directly address the Commission and raise any matters of concern to them. The Commission would welcome the assistance of those who might be affected by the proposed changes.

Date and location for the hearing

Port Augusta has been chosen for the regional hearing because most of the proposed changes affect the electors in and around that city. The hearing will be held at 10.00am on Wednesday 24 June 2020 at the Magistrates Court, 4 Flinders Terrace, Port Augusta.


To register your interest in making a submission at the regional hearing, please email the Commission’s Secretary, Mr David Gully, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 5:00pm on Monday 22 June 2020.