The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission was established to review and carry out periodic redistributions of the boundaries of South Australia’s House of Assembly electoral districts

The Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission, incorporating the Order and electoral district maps, was presented to His Excellency, the Governor, on Wednesday, 18 November 2020. It will be published in a special edition of the Government Gazette on Thursday 19 November 2020. 

Submissions relating to the proposed electoral redistribution described in the draft report have been received and are available. 

Go here to view Submissions
The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission has released its Draft Report and Maps for the proposed electoral districts.

Extensive changes to electoral boundaries have been made. At the next State election approximately 240,000 electors will find themselves in a different district.

Printed copies of the Draft Report are available for inspection or may be purchased for $30 from the Electoral Commission SA, Level 6, 60 Light Square, Adelaide.

Pursuant to section 85 of the Constitution Act, any person who has already made a written representation to the Commission in relation to this redistribution, or any interested member of the public, may now make any submission in writing that he or she thinks fit about the draft order (including the reasons that support it).

Written submissions must be received by the Secretary to the Commission, David Gully, via GPO Box 646 Adelaide SA 5000 or by no later than 5 pm on Wednesday, 16 September 2020.

The Commission will consider all such submissions and may, if it thinks necessary, hear further evidence or argument before proceeding to finalise its order. The Commission expects to finalise its order before the end of this year.

The Draft Report is available here

The Commission has announced that it will travel to Port Augusta to hear from interested persons and groups.

More information here Regional Hearing


An invitation for submissions on various options relating to the ‘Iron Triangle’ electoral districts has been made by the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.

Submissions presently before the Commission, in addressing the shortfall of electors in the districts of Flinders, Giles, Stuart and Frome, propose options that would alter the boundaries of those districts so that the number of electors in each district is increased through either dividing an Iron Triangle city between two districts or placing two Iron Triangle cities into a single district.

The Commission at its recent public hearing on Monday 18 May 2020 has determined to invite further submissions on this specific matter from interested persons. Submissions on this matter should be lodged via email to the Commission’s Secretary at by no later than 5:00pm on Monday 1 June 2020.

Current submissions are available here