The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission was established to review and carry out periodic redistributions of the boundaries of South Australia’s House of Assembly electoral districts

The revised boundaries are available in digital format from Data SA.
The decision of the Full Court of the Supreme Court of South Australia in the appeal against the order of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission was handed down on Friday 10 March 2017.

The Court unanimously upheld the approach taken by the 2016 Commission.

The appeal concerned the interpretation of section 77 of the Constitution Act 1934 (SA). The question was whether the Commission was entitled to use the “tolerance” in section 77 to assist in achieving the aims of section 83 of the Constitution Act. The Full Court confirmed that the tolerance was available to be used for that purpose and that doing so did not undermine the “one vote one value” principle.

The full text of the decision can be read on Austlii under the title of Martin v Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.
At the directions hearing held before The Honourable Chief Justice Kourakis on 23 December 2016 orders were made requiring a Public Notice regarding the appeal against the Order of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission be published on this website along with a copy of the Notice of Appeal and the Draft Case Book Index. For more information visit the Appeal Against Order page.
An appeal against the Order of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission was lodged in the Supreme Court by Reggie Brian Martin on 19 December 2016. Mr Martin is the Secretary of the South Australian Branch of the Australian Labor Party.

Pursuant to section 86 of the South Australia Constitution Act 1934 any elector may appeal to the Full Court of the Supreme Court on the ground that the order has not been duly made in accordance with the Act.

Any appeal must be lodged within one month of the order. The Commission’s order was published on 8 December 2016.

Learn more on the Appeal Against Order page.
The report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission, incorporating the Order and electoral district maps, was presented to His Excellency, the Governor, on Wednesday, 7 December 2016. It was published in a special edition of the Government Gazette on Thursday, 8 December 2016.

Printed copies of the Commission’s Report are now available for inspection at the office of the Electoral Commission of South Australia, Level 6, 60 Light Square Adelaide.

The 2016 report and the 47 district maps are available here.